I ran my first 10K!

I finished my first 10K yesterday and boy was I shocked at how well I did. The Tufts 10K in Boston is known as one of the best races in the area drawing over 8K runners and 25K spectators (via Boston Globe). The 6.2 mile course takes women down Charles Street across the river to Cambridge, over another bridge to Mass Ave, and down Commonwealth Avenue. There were fun events starting at 9am but someone decided to abuse the day off and enjoy sleeping in longer than usual…

I got to starting line later than planned. I read online that you are not allowed to use iPods during the race so I immediately panicked. I asked a few runners around me if they knew there were exceptions but no one seemed to know. I put my iPod in my bag and began to head over to the masses and get in line. Everyone I saw had an ipod. Frustrating. If you are going to allow them, say it! If not, follow through with the rule. So annoying. Anyway, I had been diagnosed with an ear infection and had a nasty cold since Thursday. Reluctant to run at all, I just decided to go for it.

I finished in 52 minutes with less than a 9 minute mile! I finished around 850 out of 6000+ so that was amazing and a great feeling. If I want to run a half marathon, I know I’ll be able to do it, I just need to put in the time and effort to log the hours to train. Maybe next year…

2 responses to “I ran my first 10K!

  1. I’m gonna try this one for sure.
    I have had great results also with http://www.tubeleecher.com

  2. Great site, Sarah.

    Two questions for you (with a bit of background):

    Late high school, throughout university and in my early business career I was an avid runner and very fit. Once I became busy with work, my running suffered and so did my fitness.

    I’m 36 now and am starting to run again with some biking too. Running outdoors is still my favourite (Canadian spelling) cardiovascular form of exercise.

    I’m finding that my ankles generally ache when I’ve running with some regularity. This has never happened before and, unfortunately, it’s troublesome enough that it’s impacting my ability to run regularly.

    Any ideas on what may be causing the ache? Any suggestions on how to mitigate it?

    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

